Archive | 8:48 pm

Extreme Metal

31 Jul

So surprise surprise, I’m going to do my MGP on extreme metal and the fans.  More or less I’m looking at the lengths that fans of extreme metal are willing to go to in regards to extreme metal, which can be interpreted as something like tattoos or risking physical injury in a moshpit. Along with this I’ll have to go into an explanation of what extreme metal is, such as some background or a bit of the origins.  A stylistic description, possibly accompanied with a video presentation of what extreme metal can appear as in a musical sense.  I am still trying to figure out what exactly to do for this project, but I do know that I want to go into the direction of extreme metal and it’s fans, since it is something that I feel that I will be effective with since I know the subject fairly well.

Costumes

31 Jul

For my MGP, it was a toss-up between looking at the physics in the media (such as the Simpsons episode where Homer goes 3D to warp drive of Star Trek) and the unique culture of those who cosplay (dressing up in costume as a character from a form of media or a type of costume in general).  Based on the title of this blog post, you can tell I chose the latter of the two.

For my project, I plan on analyzing the different reasons people have for cosplaying or not.  In my experience, I know that reasons can vary from just wanting to have fun to dressing up and acting as a character to better understand the motives of that character.  The main questions that will be driving my MGP are ones such as “What are the different levels of cosplay?” and “Why do people cosplay?”  As for my initial thoughts on the project, I believe it will be somewhat easy to collect data and resources about my topic.  For two of my four genres, I plan on taking pictures and conducting interviews at a local convention.  And for the record, the picture above this paragraph is a person cosplaying.