Blog Post #1

25 Jun

During the free-writing, the very first idea was the animation film “Ghost in the Shell”, which inspired Larry and Andy Wachowski to create “The Matrix”. However, the theme of “Ghost in the Shell” is the borderline between soul and AI which is some way off our course topic. My second idea was “Shutter Island”.  I could not stop thinking that the main character Teddy Daniels is mentally ill or he is brainwashed after watching the movie. The scene in which Teddy Daniels interrogates institute faculties should be worth to be analyzed to find clues for answering the question.
After the lecture on Thursday, I think that music video would be a good category for me to explore. Music video of “We Are All Made of Stars” by Moby and “Spaceman” by the Killers contain a lot of interesting details, but I haven’t figure out how to connect these information to the course topic. Anyway, I am still looking for my primary source.

3 Responses to “Blog Post #1”

  1. dxshel June 25, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

    When you mentioned the animation film “Ghost in the Shell”, it made me think of a famous article called “The Man in the Case” written by Аnton Chekhov. I realize space may not always be a room, house. It can be spirit and society.

  2. Hui June 28, 2010 at 6:12 pm #

    After reading your blog, I take a look at the two music videos you mentioned. Both of them has the same theme or form of “spaceman”. It is quite interesting, in my eyes, maybe people can see the world more clearly and objectively from the space. Also, the music videos remind me a band named “God is an astronaut”, I like the name of the band and their music as well. Looking forward to see your blog~

  3. Justin June 28, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

    It looks like you had a lot of ideas for your primary source but I say your best idea is “Shutter Island” in my opinion. Your description of the character (Teddy Daniels) seems to fit well with the “body and space” theme because when you mentioned the scene where he interrogates institute faculties, it shows me that the character makes a lot of use of his space and body for a mental individual.

Leave a comment