Archive | 11:37 pm

MGP Blog Post #6

29 Jul

I have two tentative topics: “Stereotype of Men” and “Subways”. “Stereotype of Men” is extended from my ARP in which I focused on gender norms and stereotypes, but I do not want to work on this topic unless I can’t find other topics. “Subways” is my topic of 5th blog post and the class discussion about trains is somewhat related to this topic. I will focus on people’s behavior in cars instead of in stations.

For “Stereotype of Men”, I will make a website on wordpress.com for incorporating other genres.For this topic, the introduction part will be based on my personal experience and research. I would like to include a song or a music video related to stereotypes in the other sections. Pictures of celebrities who changed his appearance in different stages of life will be used in my project. I don’t have any outline of the class presentation, but I hope I can make an interactive one.

Post #6

29 Jul

This may sound really odd, but I love dentistry.  While my ARP was about the concepts of beauty in general, in my multi-genre project I am going to discuss the role of the smile in our society.   A healthy and beautiful smile is extremely important in order to be confident and successful.  During the last decade dentistry has dramatically changed.  Technological progress has brought about esthetical dentistry.  It is now possible to completely change someone’s smile.  In my project, I am going to stress preventative dentistry.   Last year we had a 25 year old female patient with a very poor dental prognosis.  Unfortunately it was too late for her, and we could do nothing except to pull ALL her teeth.  I wish we could have seen her a few years earlier so we could help her avoid this situation.  So, I have decided to create a health care magazine, where I would like to emphasize the importance of oral health care and do research about the efficacy of electric and regular toothbrushes.

Good or Bad? That is the Question.

29 Jul

First, I would like to give a huge thank you to Anne Jansen for letting us step away from our ARP topic and choose to do our MGP on something else!! I was getting completely fed up with not only the ARP, but the topic I chose as well. The new topic will provide me with some much needed motivation and help me to finish off the quarter strong. I have always been fascinated with the human mind and how it makes us interact with each other and our surroundings. This fascination has led me to wonder what it is that drives people to do good…or to do bad. The decisions we make every day affect those around us whether we like it or not. In my MGP I intend to discuss not only what drives people to do good or bad, but to analyze if there are certain traits that affect people’s decisions and how that affects the world around them. This is something that I am very passionate about and I know that passion will drive me to do the best I can on this project.

MGP Project

29 Jul

I decided to go back to my initial ARP proposal which was about ethnic clothing and how a lot of different cultural express themselves through their unique outfits. I thought a lot about this topic and when I get the chance to write about I went for it. Well for starter this is a topic I can relate to in so many ways and on top of that I have a lot people (to be exact a lot of women) who I can interview for the project which is always great to have different point views on a particular topic. So to put all this great ideas into a manageable format I want to use PowerPoint presentation. The genres I want to use are mainly pictures, introduction essay and interviews with the women. Some other sources will be coming from the blogs and any documentary I find that is useful and informative. So the purpose of my MGP is to make it more informative and aware of our surroundings

Is it worth to be beauty?

29 Jul

Nowadays, beauty seems to be emphasized too much in the society. Every young girl wants to become beauty and would like to use some extreme tools to achieve their beauty dreams. Some of the measures, for example, take drugs to control weight and do the plastic surgeries which are popular these days, but in my opinion it is not necessary. Their inappropriate pursuing the beauty makes them ignore the core concept of the beauty which results in the blindness comparison and money worship. Therefore, in my MGP, I would like to deep analysis this phenomenon in the society.

For data analysis, I would like to do some interviews, which would get the rich opinions in the girls as my age. I am trying to know what they think about using drug control and plastic surgery to become beauty.

I would also want to make a photo show about the bad effect that from the failure of these two activities. Using the awful pictures to arouse the girls attention that the price for becoming pretty in the wrong way is unaffordable.

Blog Post #6 – The MGP

29 Jul

Well I am one of the rare people who want to continue with the ideas from my ARP and use them on my MGP.  This is partly due to my interest in my topic for the ARP, which was Pink Floyd’s The Wall.  The other reason for me staying with this topic is that I already have some solid research and it would be a lot of work for me to start over.

Because we cannot use the exact same ideas for this project, I plan on addressing how harmful childhood influences can affect a person even in adulthood.  For my MGP I am planning on creating my own wordpress page, and I will set it up like a website.  As of now, my plans for the website are:

1-      An informative introduction to the website which will include some research and sources

2-      A presentation of a set of photographs to be taken by myself of children and common environments that can shape their lives.

3-      An advertisement sponsor for my website that supports children and has facts

4-      A blog from someone else’s perspective on a bad childhood and how it affects them

If anybody has any feedback or good ideas, let me know, Thanks!