Archive | 8:32 pm

“My hide away spot”

15 Jul

"PB"

Whenever I come into the panera bread I always like to find an empty booth. The booths are supposed to be occupied by four or more people so i try to come in late afternoons when there aren’t tons of people in the restaurant. This picture above is one of the booths I like to seat. The reason I like to seat on that open booth is because I like have all my belonging where I can reach them at. So this booth not only does it gave me a flexibility, but also allows me to stretch around, put my food on one side while I have my notebook next to it and still have more space. The music in the restaurant is more like melody then actually song so it’s not noisy or loud. The people in the restaurant are welcoming and nice they offer you help if you need, so is their delicious food and not to mention the free Wi-Fi they offer all day long. So every week/ weekend I come here to eat, read, do homework or all the above.

My organized chaos – Post #4

15 Jul

Above is a picture of about half of my room, I live in my parents’ basement which is why it is so big.  I was going to upload a picture of the other half but I just realized that there is already a lot to talk about in this one.  At first glance most people would consider my room “messy” or “unorganized” but honestly it is completely organized.  If there is something that I am looking for I always know where it is, it just may not be as obvious to other people.  But they don’t matter in this case because this is my room and I have it the way I want it.

If you are looking at my room and thinking to yourself “why does he have so much furniture?” Well, I happen to really enjoy movies, videogames, and music so I decided that I would set up a home theater with my big tv, nice surround sound speaker system (which also surrounds my bed haha) and of course a PlayStation 3 and a Wii.  To properly enjoy all of this, I needed a nice chair a couch so everybody can sit around and relax.

In front of my couch you will notice my computer which I occasionally use for school, mostly just for fun.  The couch is sort of the center of my room, when I walk in I almost always go straight there.  This is because I am lazy and I can enjoy most of what my room has to offer without moving.

In terms of decorations, I have a lot of magazines, movies, posters, and yes that is a giant beer bottle pinata.  Ususlly my decorations focus on my interests like cars, movies, games or music.  Like I said in the beginning, this is my room so I have everything exactly the way I like it.  My space is designed for me.

My working place in summer

15 Jul

The place where I spend most of my time here in summer is the Neil building’s front desk. I work there as the office assistant and spend almost 12 hours per week in that place. The front desk is on the first floor of the Neil building. The main responsibility here is to deal with the everyday problems each residence has and help them get into the community quickly.

The front desk contains three parts. The first part is the opening area facing the door where you could always see an office assistant sitting there to welcome every residence and answer the phone calls. The second part is for the mail and package storage place. Every residence’s mail order will come here and sorted by date and category. Comparing with the first two parts, the third part can be called the inner area where is the office for the senior staff and residence manager.

Every residence could go to the front desk if they meet some problems. The office assistant will help them first and if the problem is really essential, they will ask the senior staff to handle.

The office assistants here are all students with diversified background and knowledge. They always organize lots of events for the residence. It is really a big and fun community here.

Study Place

15 Jul

This is my favorite study place in Thompson.

I have tons of weird habits when studying, scratching my head, biting nails and sometimes pulling my hair. I usually study at my dorm that I don’t have to worry about my habits is annoying to others and I can wear nothing but underwear.  Also, I hate someone walking behind me when studying.

When I have to stay or study in library, I always avoid the crowd. So I seldom stay in the third floor of SEL where is a good place for group discussing. The picture above is a perfect place for me. It’s a single seat with table and right back against the wall. The railing is on the right hand side and the left side are stacks of over-size books which are written in languages other than English. This is a secluded place in Thompson library. It’s even quieter than quiet study rooms in Thompson.

The place I enjoy most

15 Jul

Since I came here and started living in the university village, my favorite place has been my kitchen. I LOVE cooking. Actually I didn’t cook before I came here and it is also because the lack of our tradition food here that I started to learn cooking. But now, I feel I love doing so.

All of my two rooms, who are also Chinese, and I cook a lot so we have a well-equipped kitchen will tons of different kinds of seasonings and our fridge is always full of kinds of meat and vegetable and some wired kind of snacks. And I figured it out soon that both shopping and consuming food are soooo enjoyable.  And when I’m cooking, the cracking of ingredients, the flowing water, the sound from the pans and oven, they just sound like a music. However, the most fantastic thing is: knowing my dishes get appreciated! After a whole week’s struggling in study, cooking is such a fun to enjoy.

The picture of my kitchen will follow up soon.