Archive | 8:38 pm

My opinion of “body and space”

25 Jun

I think this topic is very interesting and we can broad it to every area.Different can really affect our behavior, so does the decorations of our dressing.When I was in high school, we all wore uniform and behaved just very polite and learn to discipline ourselves. However, after school, we prefer to relax ourselves and wear any style of clothes we like. A new look can also be a sign of a person’s new role. Also, our style of dressing can decide others’ reflection on us. Sometimes, we need to fit our dressing according to different spaces. This two word are always closely related in our life. Different spaces require people to act differently. If we are working in office, we should dress formal and behave very right and professional. If we are in a bar, we can speak very loudly and be very active. Topics about space and body can be found all around our life.

Some simple thoughts about bodies and space~

25 Jun

Well, I have to say that it’s hard for me to pick a idea for my ARP paper. Bodies and space is such a wide theme that I find it’s easy to think up of many ideas but hard to expound one idea well.

So I just want to talk about one possible idea, and that is about the space and the body’s decoration. This topic focused on the interaction of space and body. In different space, different purposes and different environment make different body decoration. Think about formal wear in the working place and casual clothes at home.

And also, space in different culture also has different effects on body’s decoration. And for this, I think of some countries in the Middle East. In the public space, women in these countries usually wear mantilla to cover their face and that is because of the religion. Besides, we know that on the traditional festival in some countries, people usually decorate their bodies in traditional ways.

Just some simple thoughts, I still need to do more research~~

Aliens?!

25 Jun

What comes first to your mind when you see the word “ALIEN”?  Some little creatures in “UFO”, or a new resident  whose culture background  is totally different from yours in your neighborhood? However, the word “Alien” is what jumps into my mind when the topic “Body & Space” comes out, but I will not write about ET or spaceship. To make it broader, I am curious about how an individual tries to get along with a new life style or a different culture (let’s say he/ she is an alien), and at the same time, how tolerant a community or society could be with a fish living out of the water ---and here are the body and space.

Having watched the movie “The Blind Side” time after time, I get the concern about culture conflict and ethnic difference which I have never thought about before. I used to live in an environment with almost everyone or everything is common to anybody else, so no way would there be a racial conflict. Even though the arguments and discussion about race diverse has been making for hundreds of years, I still want to write about that black boy “Big Mike” who was accepted and loved by Leigh Anne Tuohy with her family, that African American teenager who was surrounded and taken care of by what he called “White Walls”, that great football player who had been getting through a life without a bed —since he was totally an alien in his school and his new family.

At the moment, I’m not sure if I can express my ARP clearly enough, but I hope it will do have something meaningful.

25 Jun

The topic of the ARP is very interesting especially for the different kinds fiction-be it visual, audible, or readable, for these have authors and intended messages. Bodies, and their spatial relations and arrangement can be effectively used by authors to add meaning through provoking thinking or just due to the impressions an audience already has of some bodies in certain spaces. In some cases, the type of text, such as movies, require details concerning bodies and space. In these cases, the author of a text-or director of a movie- may unintentionally add some of these details according to his own held impressions.

When I thought about harnessing bodies and space for conveying ideas, one movie came to mind, Dark City. Although I saw this movie more than 5 years ago, I believe it is a strong candidate. The set and costumes were certainly a thing to be remembered about, and a good addition to the movie. This ties directly to out topic, “Bodies in Space”. I am still not sure that is my primary source but, as I said, it is a strong candidate.

Some tiny ideas~

25 Jun

Only one hour to eight o`clock, I finally decided to post something here to talk about my tiny ideas. As for the topic, Bodies in Space, I am still confused about it now honestly. During the ten- minutes free writing, I came up with three topics. I really do not know which one is the best. I wish you guys can give me some advices. ^^

First of all, when I heard Anne said Bodies in Space, Friends just jumped out of my mind. The word “Bodies” reminded me of all the funny things happened in that popular American sitcom. I am a super fun of  their words, their gestures, and their love stories. Most of the story happened in Monica`s living room and one beautiful coffee house called “Central Perk”. They are perfect “spaces”. I was thinking to write some thing about the humor in TV shows especially in sitcoms and Friends can be my primary sources.

You guys know what, I suddenly made a decision. I am going to write Friends. I am so excited right now, so happy I am going to write something I really love~ See, Good things really happened when I write down my thoughts. Hope everyone have a great weekend~ ^^

office cubicles

25 Jun

“bodies in Space” is a very wild topic that almost everything could fit under it. During the first class especially when Anne was giving some examples and ideas about this topic, one of the pictures that she showed was about “Office Cubicles.” Therefore, what are Office Cubicles? office cubicles are the modern office space which is  partially enclosed workspace, separated from the co-workers work spaces by short walls. Office cubicles provide isolation to the office workers from the sights and noises of an open workspace. Also they give the workers their privacy and help them to concentrate without distractions. Moreover, Office cubicles help give any workplace a neat and organized look which leads to the increase of employee productivity. Nowadays, due to the increase of employee numbers, lacking enough space and trying to minimize the company cost, many companies have shifted from the traditional furnished and decorated office to office cubicles.

Blog Post #1

25 Jun

 

In the first class, at first, I did have any idea about “bodies in space”. I began to search all information from my mind, and then, some ideas came into my mind.

Bodies should be dynamic, not stable. They can be any people, any animal. They change in all time in space.  Space can be a room, a house, a community, a country, a society and a planet. Same people can have different behaviors in different spaces. They may dress differently, they may have different actions. Different people may have different dresses and behaviors or same dress and behavior in same space. That is hard to say. It depends on their personality and the environment. For example, in classrooms, students should be quiet to listen to teacher, but sometimes, some of them may talk each other, eat food or fall asleep.

 For the ARP, I will choose a fiction which descripts different people’s dress in a big family, a big house, because of their social status. In most of time, especially in old age, people’s dress presents social status. Clothing colors and patterns represent different culture of different classes.  I will analyze the relationship between people’s dress and their social status.

Still Undecided : (

25 Jun

As I write this, I sit here wondering if I’m the only one that is still undecided on a topic for my ARP.  During the free write I was able to come up with what I thought was plenty of good ideas, but I tend to second guess myself.  I wonder if many of my classmates also still wonder what they are going to be writing about.  The class English in itself is something that I’ve never been good at as well.  My attention span for writing and proper grammar is very short, lol.

As I do think about what I want to write, I feel like the easy way for proceed is to simply write about a movie.  I have seen a lot of movies and most people can easily relate to most main stream movies.  I’m torn between a movie or maybe writing about how garages and basements have changed over the years.  Most people typically call these places “man caves”.  I’m personally interested in the idea of having a sweet “man cave”, so that might come a bit naturally.  Only time will tell over the weekend.  Wish me well.

People and Metal

25 Jun

My basic thought when we were doing the free write on Monday was, I want to do something about how people react with heavy metal, more so the extreme sub-genres, such as speed, thrash, grindcore, death, black, and other even less known genres, which not many outsiders could probably distinguish from one another.  I’ve had a lot of interest in how people see and react to this kind of music since I went to my first concert in October, Dethklok and Mastodon, is was awesome, and how there were a bunch of different people there, many of which looked out of place, from the kids who looked like they would be better suited at a Harry Potter convention, which there mom would also chaperone them to, to the people who had listened to metal before they started watching Metalocalypse, to the true fans who looked like they were death metal veterans, and yes, the guy in a shirt that had rubber duckies.  Then there are other times where you could see people from churches and religious organizations going to a concert and standing out in front condemning the people going in.  I think that overall this will be less of a single person or group of people interacting with an area, but a variety of people interacting in society.

Blog Post #1

25 Jun

During the free-writing, the very first idea was the animation film “Ghost in the Shell”, which inspired Larry and Andy Wachowski to create “The Matrix”. However, the theme of “Ghost in the Shell” is the borderline between soul and AI which is some way off our course topic. My second idea was “Shutter Island”.  I could not stop thinking that the main character Teddy Daniels is mentally ill or he is brainwashed after watching the movie. The scene in which Teddy Daniels interrogates institute faculties should be worth to be analyzed to find clues for answering the question.
After the lecture on Thursday, I think that music video would be a good category for me to explore. Music video of “We Are All Made of Stars” by Moby and “Spaceman” by the Killers contain a lot of interesting details, but I haven’t figure out how to connect these information to the course topic. Anyway, I am still looking for my primary source.